Today’s news:

‘Love, Dishonor, Marry, Die, Cherish, Perish,’ ‘Winter of the World,’ and ‘Tumbledown’

Weekend reads

The Brooklyn Paper

Here are some recommended readings from your local book sellers!

WORD’s pick: “Love Dishonor, Marry, Die, Cherish, Perish” by David Rakoff


Against my expectations, I adored this book. I am highly allergic to hype, and this book couldn’t really have more. It’s Rakoff’s first and only novel, published posthumously, and it’s in verse, and it’s got the full Chip Kidd treatment, plus illustrations by Seth. There’s a lot going on there — but it was lovely. The rhyme scheme is very Seussian, which seems weird at first but then turns out to be a lot of fun even during the sad parts (and there are a lot of sad parts), and Rakoff’s wit has a lot of bite to it.
— Jenn Northington, WORD [126 Franklin St. at Milton Street in Greenpoint, (718) 383–0096, www.wordbrooklyn.com].

The BookMark Shoppe’s pick: “Winter of the World” by Ken Follett


Book Two of Ken Follett’s Century Trilogy is finally releasing in paperback. “Winter of the World” picks up right where Book 1 ended, with saga, intrigue, and deception, featuring five families from different parts of the world including America, Russia, England, and Germany. The story revolves around great historical moments beginning with World War II and through the Cold War. Follett is a truly gifted story teller, weaving history and fiction seamlessly. This historical epic is a great read, and fans should also go back to “Pillars of the Earth.”
— Bina Valenzano, co-owner, The BookMark Shoppe [8415 Third Ave. between 84th and 85th streets in Bay Ridge, (718) 833–5115, www.bookmarkshoppe.com].

Greenlight Bookstore’s pick: “Tumbledown” by Robert Boswell


Funny, sad, and slightly off-kilter, Robert Boswell’s “Tumbledown” is brilliant. A story about a man’s life coming undone, the book brings together many different characters, all fumbling about to make sense of the chaos. Perfect for fans of “Silver Linings Playbook” and “The Squid and the Whale.”
— Emily Russo, Greenlight Bookstore [686 Fulton St. between S. Elliott Place and S. Portland Avenue in Fort Greene, (718) 246–0200, www.greenlightbookstore.com].

Pin It
Print this story Permalink

Reader Feedback

Prove a Negative from Brooklyn says:
Sad. No one recommended reading THE BROOKLYN PAPER ?
Aug. 25, 2013, 8:35 pm

Enter your comment below

By submitting this comment, you agree to the following terms:

You agree that you, and not BrooklynPaper.com or its affiliates, are fully responsible for the content that you post. You agree not to post any abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening or sexually-oriented material or any material that may violate applicable law; doing so may lead to the removal of your post and to your being permanently banned from posting to the site. You grant to BrooklynPaper.com the royalty-free, irrevocable, perpetual and fully sublicensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, perform and display such content in whole or in part world-wide and to incorporate it in other works in any form, media or technology now known or later developed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Links