Sections

Where to GO: Brooklyn events calendar

Options

Submit an event

Results 1–12 of 12.

Pages: 1

Saturday, Sept. 22 (See map view)

Two sisters and their grandmother celebrate a popular Chinese holiday with family. Their favorite part? Mooncakes, of course--along with Ah-ma’s story of the ancient Chinese tale of Hou Yi, a brave young archer, and his wife, Chang’E. A long, long time ago, Hou Yi rescued the earth from the heat of ten suns. The Immortals rewarded him with a magic potion that could let him live in the sky …

When: Saturday, Sept. 22, 11 am to noon

Sunday, Sept. 23 (See map view)

The letter Z is tired of being in last place—she wants to go first! So she and her best friend, Y, decide to move to the front of the alphabet.

When: Sunday, Sept. 23, 11 am to noon

Wednesday, Sept. 26 (See map view)

Editor June Eric-Udorie discusses her collection of intersectional essays with some of the book’s contributors.

When: Wednesday, Sept. 26, 7:30 pm

Thursday, Sept. 27 (See map view)

A fun mix of story time, sing-along, dancing, games and puppet show. It’s great for kids with any level of Spanish. Don’t worry if you don’t speak the language, you can even learn with your child!

When: Thursday, Sept. 27, 10:30 am to 11:30 am

Saturday, Oct. 6 (See map view)

Join us for a bilingual storytime with Adam Rubin, bestselling author of Dragons Love Tacos (Dragones y Tacos) and El Chupacabras.

When: Saturday, Oct. 6, 11 am to noon

Luke Pearson, author of the book introduces the readers to Hilda, explorer, adventurer, avid sketchbook-keeper and friend to almost every creature in the valley! Join our beloved heroine as she encounters her very first troll, negotiates peace with some very persnickety elves, and reunites two lovelorn ancient giants. Fantastic creatures and daring adventures are all just part of another average day …

When: Saturday, Oct. 6, 2 pm to 3 pm

Sunday, Oct. 7 (See map view)

The author of The Wall in the Middle of the Book, shares the story of a foolish knight, who is certain that his side of the wall is the safe side in this clever, amusingly meta picture book by the acclaimed creator of It’s Only Stanley.

When: Sunday, Oct. 7, 1 pm to 2 pm

Saturday, Oct. 13 (See map view)

The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators presents Back 2 Back, a series celebrating veterans and newcomers in the industry. This month, we welcome Daniel Kirk and Colleen Kong-Savage.

When: Saturday, Oct. 13, 11 am to noon

Sunday, Oct. 14 (See map view)

The author reads from "Mae Among the Stars." When Mae Jemison was a child, she dreamed of dancing in space. She imagined herself surrounded by billions of stars, floating, gliding, and discovering. She wanted to be an astronaut. Her mom told her, “If you believe it, and work hard for it, anything is possible.” Little Mae’s curiosity, intelligence, and determination, matched with …

When: Sunday, Oct. 14, 11 am to noon

Wednesday, Oct. 17 (See map view)

Four girls from the teen mentorship program discuss their true stories with author Emma Straub.

When: Wednesday, Oct. 17, 7 pm

Saturday, Oct. 27 (See map view)

The author reads from "I am not a fox" A curious creature that looks like a fox but acts like a dog sets out to find where he belongs in this charming tale of self-discovery and friendship perfect for fans of Gaston and Not Quite Narwhal.

When: Saturday, Oct. 27, 11 am to noon

Sunday, Oct. 28 (See map view)

The author reads from "The Lying King" -Can warthogs fly? Do tigers eat tomatoes? For answers, follow along as Warthog lies his way to the throne in this timeless, yet most timely, Tale from the Watering Hole.

When: Sunday, Oct. 28, 11 am to noon

Results 1–12 of 12.

Pages: 1

Don’t miss out!

Stay in touch with the stories people are talking about in your community:

Optional: Help us tailor our newsletters to you!