Higher hopes and outstanding students

The Brooklyn Paper
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Don’t miss our updates:

The 54 graduating seniors at Brooklyn elementary, intermediate and high schools who were the recipients of Assemblywoman Janele Hyer-Spencer’s Higher Hopes Awards have one thing in common: All of them have demonstrated significant improvement in academic achievement throughout their school years, or succeeded in spite of adverse conditions.

The award was created as an enduring tribute to student scholars three years ago by the assemblywoman, who has repeatedly demonstrated a strong dedication to education, as a way of turning the spotlight on the real people behind the statistics, the educational success stories who reflect the ongoing commitment of educators, families and the students themselves.

The Brooklyn students who were honored by Assemblywoman Hyer-Spencer were Isaiah Nieves and Saira Chen, PS 69; Felipe Escamilla and Cristal Ruiz, PS 102; Hussein Fardous and Aziabil Arabian, PS 127; Junjie Zeng and Zhenyi Mai, PS 170; Francisco Lorenzo and Jordan Garzon, PS 185; Jiahua Huang and Siana Adorno, PS/IS 104; Aqeel Zahid and Ebtesam Nasser, IS 30; Salvatore Polizzi, Ashley Bittan, Ewelina Gadek, Kathy Wong, Ifrat Syeda and Matthew Hochberg,IS 187; Joshua Schwartz and Zheying Liang, IS 201; Zayro Sibri, Cesar Dominguez, Susana Tepox and Rami Garah, IS 259; Matthew Oszustowicz and Mariah B. Quinones, Adelphi Academy; Anthony DeLuca and Evelyn Obertnaya, Bay Ridge Preparatory School; Harry Atkinson and Jessica Dapelo, Bay Ridge Preparatory High School; Theodoros Vlagakos and Katherine Soevyn, DGK Parochial School; Stephanie Ayoub and Adrianna Grecco, Fontbonne Hall Academy; Mahbub Ahmed and Karen Guzman, Fort Hamilton High School; Dave Wallace and Melissa Davis, Gateway City Academy; Christopher Hemway and Jessica Batson, Genesis at Xaverian High School; Joseph Maynard and Katherine Pino, High School of Telecommunications Arts & Technology; Andrew D’Amico and Anthony D’Amico, Lutheran Elementary School; Michael Meyers and Michele Moran, Our Lady of Angels School; Ciaran O’Rourke and Liandra Fernandez, St. Anselm’s School; Jonathan Khabbaz and Sarah Carr, St. Patrick’s School; and, Christopher Rezk and Michael Walsh, Xaverian High School.

Updated 11:48 am, January 16, 2019
Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Don’t miss our updates:

Reasonable discourse

Comments closed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Keep it local!

Stay in touch with your community. Subscribe to our free newsletter: