Loading Events


Brooklyn Symphony Orchestra at the Brooklyn Museum

April 24, 2 pm3:30 pm.


The Brooklyn Symphony Orchestra presents a dynamic program of two unusual works and one crowd-pleaser. The afternoon begins by showcasing the BSO’s magnificent wind players in Richard Strauss’s First Sonatine no. 1 for Winds. Subtitled “From an Invalid’s Workshop,” the piece was inspired by the aging Strauss’s return to Munich after World War II. Then, noted clarinetist Gary Dranch is soloist for Gerald Finzi’s bucolic 1949 Concerto for Clarinet and String Orchestra, which harks back to a rich tradition of English string writing while recognizing the melancholy mood of post-World War II Britain. The program concludes with the crowd pleaser: Beethoven’s First Symphony, a charming work highlighting the ways the composer broke rules and shattered expectations.


Richard Strauss, Sonatine no. 1 in F for Winds
Gerald Finzi, Clarinet Concerto, Op. 31 (featuring Gary Dranch, clarinet)
Ludwig van Beethoven, Symphony no. 1 in C, Op. 21
Advance tickets are $15 for seniors and Museum Members and $20 for non-Members; same-day tickets are $25 at the door. Free for youth 16 and under. Tickets are available through the Brooklyn Symphony Orchestra.

For access needs, please email us at access@brooklynmuseum.org.
Image caption and credit: Brooklyn Symphony Orchestra, 2021. (Photo: Kolin Mendez Photography)


Brooklyn Museum 200 Eastern Pkwy. at Washington Avenue
Brooklyn, NY US

More from Around New York