Sections

A reviewer on the blog Jynxie’s Natural Habitat raved about the dope that may have killed Philip Seymour Hoffman

Heroin found in Hoffman’s apartment got high rating from Brooklyn blog

The Brooklyn Paper
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:

A brand of heroin found in the Manhattan apartment of the late actor Philip Seymour Hoffman is pretty darn potent, according to a Brooklyn heroin review blog.

Hoffman was found dead in his home on Sunday morning with a syringe in his arm and more than 70 heroin envelopes labeled “Ace of Spades” and “Ace of Hearts” strewn around the place, the New York Post reported. The latter could be copped in Williamsburg for $10 per gram — or $100 per bundle — as recently as last month, and it is some prime stuff, according to a Jan. 20 posting on the pseudonymous blog Jynxie’s Natural Habitat.

“Best product I have come across in the neighborhood in a while!” wrote a reviewer going by the name Avon. “This connect was formerly slingin’ something called ‘Public Enemy #1’ for some time, which wasn’t terrible, but this is far superior.”

“Ace of Hearts” scored a 7 out of 10 for “count,” or the amount in each baggie, a 6.5 for “legs,” the length of the high, and a 7.5 for overall quality. The author of the posting wrote that she or he sniffs the drug and therefore could not rate the initial rush, which is experienced by users who shoot up.

The eye-opening website is run by a female junkie who uses the handle DeQuincey Jynxie. Its stated purpose is to keep dope fiends safe by sharing information about drug quality and potency, a mission that is made possible in large part by the branding of heroin envelopes with stamped logos, which is unique to New York, New Jersey, and Philadelphia, according to a 2012 interview Jynxie gave to Vice Magazine.

The same punch reported by Avon may have done Hoffman in, but other accounts of caustic dope varieties that cause headaches and nausea give users more direct indications to steer clear of certain strains.

Heroin brand names, it turns out, can be topical, as in “Breaking Bad,” (“Awesome graphic but mediocre [heroin].”) confusing, i.e. “NY Times” (“The worst dope I’ve ever bought.”) and aspirational, like “Bugatti” (a Paterson, N.J. resident’s “all-time, long-term favorite bag”).

“My background is in fine art, and I worked as a mass market designer for a while, so I was always amused and excited by the branding,” Jynxie told Vice. “I also wanted to keep tabs on the quality of the product, especially if something was particularly good, bad, or just dangerous, so the site could work as a form of harm reduction.”

A Prospect Heights drug counselor, who emphasized that the goal for her patients is complete abstinence, argued that the idea of harm reduction is dangerous without the proper supervision.

“I have no objection to harm reduction, except that it needs to be closely monitored,” said Carol Morrison, agency director of the New Directions Alcohol and Substance Abuse Treatment Program on Flatbush Avenue. “People talk about it without knowing what it is.”

Updated 1:04 am, February 5, 2014
Reach reporter Megan Riesz at mriesz@cnglocal.com or by calling (718) 260-4505. Follow her on Twitter @meganriesz.
Today’s news:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook
Subscribe

Don’t miss our updates:

Reasonable discourse

Brooklyn Gersh from The WT says:
Why did The Brooklyn Paper do this story? I just don't get it.
Feb. 4, 2014, 6:42 pm
Brooklyner from Brooklyn says:
Who cares Gersh. The company is for sale (http://capi.tl/18SB3yg), they have an ad for a goddamn astrologer on their site (http://bit.ly/MZ6dKI), their print circulation is a fraction of what it used to be, they're beaten on news by the local bloggers ... the whole thing is a disaster.
Feb. 4, 2014, 6:59 pm
johnnyboy from da hood says:
Gersh- maybe their going to start running ad's for dealers
Feb. 4, 2014, 9:26 pm
Joe from Brighton Beach says:
The whole thing is so sleazy.

But then so is methadone.
Feb. 4, 2014, 9:35 pm
diehipster from Crushing Calebs says:
A Brooklyn "based" blog for junkies. Thanks hipster transplants! Your hard work is always appreciated.
Feb. 5, 2014, 9:14 am
Resident from south slope says:
See Diehipster, some transplants do add value to the local community. After all, around here it is the locals who are the heroin dealers and users. Just ask Joey the 45 year old junkie who hangs out around 16th street looking for cash handouts and opportunities to burglarize his neighbors. I'm sure he would appreciate this blog if he didn't immediately fence all of the laptops he steals.
Feb. 5, 2014, 9:56 am
Brooklyn Gersh from The WT says:
Hey, guys, don't misunderstand my post: The Brooklyn Paper is still the seminal news outlet in the borough. And despite the fact that I'm no longer editing it (!), I still read it cover to cover. And if you ask Patti Hagen, she probably likes it more now that I'm not involved!
Feb. 5, 2014, 11:11 am
j from flatbush says:
How do you people not think this is interesting???????
Or relevant???????
Feb. 5, 2014, 11:44 am
dave from PS says:
I found it interesting. I rarely learn anything from this paper, but I didn't know drugs we sometimes branded.

Anyway, regarding the website "Its stated purpose is to keep dope fiends safe by sharing information..."

Seems to, er, not work that well.
Feb. 5, 2014, 11:46 am
common sense from bay ridge says:
I'd say it's pretty close to impossible to keep people that are shooting up safe.
Feb. 5, 2014, 12:21 pm
William from Boroughs says:
Seminal? Hey Brooklyn Gersh--what are you smoking??
Feb. 6, 2014, 1:30 am
Heidi from East Village says:
Excellent article. I used to work for the Association for Drug Abuse and Prevention in the late 1980s. The group advocated for needle exchange and went into shooting galleries to teach users how to clean their works. Good to see some reality reporting.
Feb. 7, 2014, 8:41 pm
Jon from Williamsburg says:
The owner of the jynxie stamp review used to live in Brooklyn, (and loooove heroin) but is now a Bacon addict who lost it all b/c of the Other White Meat. She still chooses to keep her site going to glamorize being a Pork Junkie while calling it "Ham Reduction."
Feb. 10, 2014, 2:35 pm
junkie says:
Blatent mistake in your article. A gram of dope does not cost anywhere near $10 you mean a 0.1 gram of dope costs 10$ and a bundle which should weigh a gram is $100
Feb. 10, 2014, 10:02 pm
junkie says:
And for the people saying the site does not aid in harm reduction that is just plain retarded. You see a review on there that says something is very strong and be careful you know to be careful when choosing your dose..

You see a review on there that says something is bad or laced with something you know to look out for it and don't buy it ..

so yea how does that not help keep people safe?
Feb. 10, 2014, 10:05 pm
Dee from Bay ridge says:
Heroin is rampant. Dealers are open for business right on my tree lined street. Cops know it and ignore it despite my numerous complaints and providing car license plate numbers to the officers of the 68
Feb. 27, 2014, 1:58 pm
Chris from NJ says:
Hey Dee from Bay Ridge...what street you live on? :P
May 15, 2014, 9:16 pm
Nyc native from Flatbush, Brighton b says:
Brooklyn has been a pathetic joke since the pos trust fund transplant posse began taking over nyc in the 90's. No surprise to see nyc still chews up and spits out these weak minded imbeciles. These morons need to go back to the midwest and southeast for good...oh ya, some do go back...in a bodybag (which btw used to be a good $10 bag once upon a time, too).
So a blog reviewing bagsadope, what a joke...so typical of what nyc has been turned into by wall st scum and pretentious trust fund scumbags.
July 17, 2014, 2:08 pm
cdub from outskirts says:
I've done some reviews for that site in my using days. I've actually come across ace of spades a few times and it was pretty decent. Nothing to write home about. Clean now though thankfully.
Oct. 15, 2014, 7:29 pm

Enter your comment below

By submitting this comment, you agree to the following terms:

You agree that you, and not BrooklynPaper.com or its affiliates, are fully responsible for the content that you post. You agree not to post any abusive, obscene, vulgar, slanderous, hateful, threatening or sexually-oriented material or any material that may violate applicable law; doing so may lead to the removal of your post and to your being permanently banned from posting to the site. You grant to BrooklynPaper.com the royalty-free, irrevocable, perpetual and fully sublicensable license to use, reproduce, modify, adapt, publish, translate, create derivative works from, distribute, perform and display such content in whole or in part world-wide and to incorporate it in other works in any form, media or technology now known or later developed.

First name
Last name
Your neighborhood
Email address
Daytime phone

Your letter must be signed and include all of the information requested above. (Only your name and neighborhood are published with the letter.) Letters should be as brief as possible; while they may discuss any topic of interest to our readers, priority will be given to letters that relate to stories covered by The Brooklyn Paper.

Letters will be edited at the sole discretion of the editor, may be published in whole or part in any media, and upon publication become the property of The Brooklyn Paper. The earlier in the week you send your letter, the better.

Don’t miss out!

Stay in touch with the stories people are talking about in your neighborhood:

Optional: Help us tailor our newsletters to you!