Brooklyn Cyclones clinch first league title win since 2001 - Brooklyn Paper

Brooklyn Cyclones clinch first league title win since 2001

The Brooklyn Cyclones celebrate after winning the 2019 NYPL Championship at MCU Park.
Jon Farina

Lets go Brooklyn!

The Brooklyn Cyclones clinched the New York Penn League Championship at MCU Park on Sept. 10, vanquishing the Lowell Spinner’s in a closely contested third game of the series and providing relief to the team’s long suffering fans!

“It’s about time,” said Cyclones fanatic Eddie Mark.

Brooklyn Cyclones celebrate as they become the 2019 NYPL Champions after defeating the Spinners 4-3.
Jon Farina

The Cyclones entered the postseason with a league-best record of 43 wins to 32 losses, and approached Tuesday’s championship game tied 1-1 in a best-of-three series against the hated Massachusetts club.

Jake Mangum put the Cyclones on the board at the bottom of the second inning with a single to the left, and the Coney squad followed up the game’s debut point with a run-scoring ground out to second.

The Brooklyn ballplayers early lead was short lived, however, and the Spinners tied it up at two a piece in the top of the third inning.

Jon Farina

Marino Campana’s solo home run in the top of the seventh gave the road team a one-run lead over the Cyclones, but Antoine Duplantis closed the gap with a game tying RBI triple, and the Cyclones regained the lead after Yoel Romero hit an RBI single to left center, clearing Duplantis’ path to home and securing the championship title with a nail-biting 4-3 victory.

“It was a relief watching the last strikes be thrown,” Mark said.

This was the team’s first title since 2001, when the Cyclones were given an honorary ring in the wake of the Sept. 11 terrorist attack, which led officials to cancel the 2001 championship series.

Jon Farina

More from Around New York