MTA announces new slate of L train service cuts for northern Brooklyn

No service: Transit leaders are halting service on the L train for 15 weekends, starting with this one, until April.
Photo by Paul Martinka

What the L?!

The Metropolitan Transportation Authority announced it will shut down L train service in most of northern Brooklyn for nine weekends and several weeknights, starting Tuesday.

The transit agency will close down the 10 stops between Lorimer Street and Broadway Junction stations for construction workers to make accessibility and power upgrades, according to its trendy-looking weekly newsletter on the L train project.

There won’t be any trains at those stations from midnight to 5 a.m. on weeknights from July 16 through Aug. 2, as well as two weeks in September and October.

The tube will not run at the stops on weekends at all from July 19 though Aug. 4, for two weekends in September and October, and for all weekends in January 2020, according to the agency.

Workers need the area to be train-free while they finish hooking up two new substations, which will allow for more tubes, according to the newsletter.

“We’re also putting the finishing touches on the two new substations in Brooklyn — connecting them to power means we’ll be ready to run more L trains once the project is finished,” the release reads. “We aren’t able to have active trains running while this connection is made.”

Trains will continue to run every 20 minutes from 10 p.m. until midnight ahead of the closures from Manhattan to Lorimer Street and from Broadway Junction to Canarsie Rockaway-Parkway.

The agency will run free shuttle buses at the closed stops every three minutes, but advises straphangers that the fastest alternatives will be the G, M, J, and 7 trains, as well as the Williamsburg Link B91A.

Here are all the scheduled closures:

Weeknights

Tuesday, July 16 to Friday, July 19

Monday, July 22 to Friday, July 26

Monday, July 29 to Friday, Aug. 2

Monday, Sept. 23 to Friday, Sept. 27

Monday, Sept. 30 to Friday, Oct. 4

Weekends

Friday, July 19 to Sunday, July 21

Friday, July 26 to Sunday, July 28

Friday, Aug. 2 to Sunday, Aug. 4

Friday, Sept. 27 to Sunday, Sept. 29

Friday, Oct. 4 to Sunday, Oct. 6

Friday, Jan. 3 to Sunday, Jan. 5

Friday, Jan. 10 to Sunday, Jan. 12

Friday, Jan. 17 to Sunday, Jan. 19

Friday, Jan. 24 to Sunday, Jan. 26

For more information, visit new.mta.info/l-project.

Reach reporter Kevin Duggan at (718) 260–2511 or by e-mail at kduggan@cnglocal.com. Follow him on Twitter @kduggan16.
>